Head On Portrait Prize

Head On Portrait Prize

40 Finalists


Festival Year :


Exhibition Description

The Head On Portrait Prize was established in 2004 with the aim of providing greater opportunities for both practising photographers and members of the public to view and exhibit high-quality photographic portraits. It is now one of the world’s biggest and most respected annual displays of portraiture and a pivotal part of Head On Photo Festival. In recent years, the exhibition has toured internationally. The judges look purely for images that encapsulate the essence of the subject and invite an emotional response from the viewer.

The Portrait Prize is one of four categories of the Head On Photo Awards. All works entered into the awards are anonymous through the judging process and as a result, the merit of the work is the focus, bringing together both newly unearthed and established Australian and international talent. The judging panel changes each year resulting in exhibitions that are unpredictable and diverse from year to year.

Judges of the Head On Photo Awards 2018 were picture editor, The Guardian, Jonny Weeks; award-winning photographer David Dare Parker; Director of Three Shadows Photography Art Centre (Beijing), Nataline Colonnello; award- winning leading photojournalist Paula Bronstein; picture editor New York Times, Mikko Takkunen; award-winning photographer Nancy Borowick; documentary storyteller James Whitlow Delano; artist and Somerset House board member Marcus Lyon; Director, Australian Centre for Photography, Cherie McNair; independent curator Alasdair Foster; award-winning photographer Katrin Koenning; visual arts educator Louise Heilpern and Head On Photo Festival Director Moshe Rosenzveig.

Major prize by:

Artist Bio

Federico Viegener, Lauren Horwood, Kate Geraghty, Liz Ham, Len Metcalf, Sam Ruttyn, Franky Tsang, David Hahn, Paul Mason, Shea Kirk, Jake Nowakowski, Rowena Meadows, Susannah Tosh, Alex Frayne, Tony Kearney, Candy Goldsmith, Krystle Ricci , Jean-Francois Bouchard, Alireza Fani, Coco Amardeil, Patrick Gries, Karl Mancini, Tatsuo Suzuki, Anne Nobels, Berber Theunissen, Boy Surminski, Jouk Oosterhof, Marinka Masséus, Cathy Carter, Karen Lawton, Ingerid Jordal, Hubert Czajkowski, Irmina Walczak &  Sávio Freire, Yana Vasilyeva, Daniel Ochoa de Olza, Javier Arcenillas, Alfio Tommasini, Tariq Zaidi, Susan Copen Oken, Adam Ferguson

Exhibition Space

Dates and Times


Open Hours

Opening Hours
Monday - Sunday: 10:00 am-6:00 pm

-33.885239, 151.225807